Andres Tennus

Professor of Physical Chemistry Enn Lust awarded honorary citizen of Tartu

Tartu City Council assigned the titles of Honorary Citizen of Tartu and the honorary decorations Tartu Täht on 25 January. Enn Lust, Professor of Physical Chemistry at the University of Tartu was granted the title of Honorary Citizen. 

Besides Enn Lust, the titles of Honorary Citizen of Tartu were awarded to pediatrician and psychiatrist Anne Daniel-Karlsen and sculptor Mati Karmin. The honorary decoration Tartu Täht was given this year to Ivar Dembovski, Rait Labotkin and Rufina Noor. 

Professor of Physical Chemistry Enn Lust has been the director of the Institute of Chemistry of the University of Tartu since 2008. He has supervised dozens of doctoral and master's theses and published more than 350 research publications. Enn Lust is passionate about the popularisation of science and the application of scientific results in new technologies. Lust is also a member of the Estonian Academy of Sciences. 

Previously, Enn Lust has been awarded the University of Tartu Badge of Distinction, the University of Tartu Grand Medal and the Order of Merit of the White Star, Third Class. He has received a medal also by the Estonian Academy of Sciences and the Lithuanian Academy of Sciences. For his research, he has been granted two national research awards. 

The title of Honorary Citizen of Tartu is a recognition of lifelong outstanding merit to the city of Tartu. The decoration Tartu Täht is awarded for special merit to the city of Tartu. The honorary titles will be presented on 22 February at the ceremony dedicated to the 106th anniversary of the Republic of Estonia at the Estonian National Museum. 

Austame erinevusi märgised

University of Tartu recognised again with "Respecting differences" quality label


Recipients of University of Tartu annual awards have been announced


Recipients of the teaching staff of the year awards have been announced