Andres Tennus

Nominate a candidate for awarding with honorary decoration until 20 September

All university members are invited to nominate candidates who would deserve to be awarded the university's honorary decoration for their outstanding achievements. The nominations can be submitted via an online form until 20 September. 

The proposals for recognition can be submitted throughout the year, but honorary decorations are awarded once a year, just before the anniversary of Estonia's national university. The ceremony of presenting honorary decorations of 2022 takes place on 25 November.  

When submitting a nomination for recognition, please enter the candidate's name on the university's website and briefly describe why the person should receive the honorary decoration. The senate decides the awarding of the Great Medal at its October meeting. The rector decides the awarding of the Medal, the Star of Appreciation, the Badge of Distinction and the decoration "100 Semesters at the University of Tartu" immediately after the senate's October meeting. 

The university awards decorations to recognise university members and significant individuals outside the university according to the Regulations for Giving Recognition in force since 2020. Honorary decorations of the University of Tartu are Johan Skytte Medal, University of Tartu Star of Appreciation, University of Tartu Grand Medal, University of Tartu Medal, University of Tartu Badge of Distinction and Decoration “100 Semesters at the University of Tartu”.

video has been made about the making of the decorations, in which Julia Maria Künnap, the author of both the rector's chain of office and the honorary decorations, opens the background of the design, and the viewer gets a closer look at the process of making the decorations. 

Nominate a candidate for awarding with honorary decoration until 20 September
Austame erinevusi märgised

University of Tartu recognised again with "Respecting differences" quality label


Recipients of University of Tartu annual awards have been announced


Recipients of the teaching staff of the year awards have been announced